Enterprise Architecture (EA):

Enterprise architecture (EA) in the Commonwealth is the strategic framework that is driven by the business of the enterprise and the corresponding business strategies, visions and goals. The framework establishes a process that is focused on building and maintaining an enterprise-wide business, information, solutions and technical infrastructure, and architecture that is adaptable and that best enables the service activities of state government in an ever-changing environment. The goal of EA is to create a common and cohesive vision among business and technology leaders regarding:

  • The emerging technology trends and enterprise business strategies that will drive the architecture
  • The IT requirements derived from enterprise business strategies
  • The role and definition of the technical architecture that best enables the business needs of the enterprise
  • The migration plan that will move the enterprise from the current to the future architecture

The Commonwealth's EA contains four primary component architectures:

  • Enterprise Business Architecture (EBA)
  • Enterprise Information Architecture (EIA)
  • Enterprise Solutions Architecture (ESA)
  • Enterprise Technical Architecture (ETA)

Enterprise Business Architecture (EBA):

The EBA documents the business strategy, governance, organization and business functions of Virginia state government, and establishes a baseline that defines which organizations perform these functions. The EBA provides a holistic view of state government from a business perspective to define who we are, what we do and where we want to go. It also provides a common reference model for citizens, businesses, members of the General Assembly, current and future administrations and other interested parties that help define the business of state government.

The EBA provides the primary drivers for developing the various EA component architectures. These drivers include the business strategies and intent of state leadership, the as-is baseline enterprise business architecture, the to-be enterprise business architecture and the gap analysis to determine those steps or initiatives required to move the as-is to the to-be enterprise business architecture.

Enterprise Information Architecture (EIA):

The Enterprise Information Architecture (EIA) provides the framework/model and methodology that will enhance each agency's ability to quickly discover, access, and understand data and create the information needed to make critical decisions and support agency business functions.

In its simplest terms, the EIA framework has three components: data sharing, data description and data context that will contain information about the Commonwealth's data assets that can be used to answer questions such as:

  • What data is available?
  • Who has the data and who owns it?
  • Is the data in a format that I can use?
  • Is the quality and reliability of the data good enough to meet my needs?
  • Can I get access to that data?

Enterprise Solutions Architecture (ESA):

An Enterprise Solutions Architecture (ESA) is the collection of information systems (applications and components, purchased or custom-developed) supporting or related to the business functions defined in the EBA and the Enterprise Business Model. The ESA provides the framework/model and methodology that supports the transition from silo-based, application centric and agency centric information technology investments to an enterprise approach where solutions are designed to be flexible. This allows agencies to take advantage of shared and reusable components, facilitates the sharing and reuse of data where appropriate, and makes the best use of the technology infrastructure that is available. The ESA includes:

  • Inventory of solutions, applications and components currently being used to support business functions in the Commonwealth (known as As-Is)
  • An analysis of As-Is solutions
  • Future state recommendations related to automated solutions (known as To-Be)
  • An analysis of As-Is technology tools currently being used to support As-Is automated solutions
  • Future state recommendations related to technology tools
  • The framework and governance structure for establishing and implementing enterprise and collaborative/sharable solutions
  • Requirements related to ESA governance and implementation

Enterprise Technical Architecture (ETA):

An Enterprise Technical Architecture (ETA) is a consistent set of information technology standards, and models that:

  • Reflects and supports the EBA, the EIA and the ESA
  • Guides the engineering of an organization's developing information systems and technology infrastructure across the various domain architectures

    Includes eight technical domains:

    • Applications
    • Database
    • Enterprise Systems Management
    • Information
    • Integration
    • Network and Telecommunications
    • Platform
    • Security