Enterprise Information Architecture (EIA) promotes the governance, asset management and sharing of the Commonwealth's data assets. The Commonwealth Data Governance team is responsible for implementing EIA strategies under four domains:

  • Data Governance: High-level stewardship and management of data architecture and assets; strategic-level planning, monitoring and policy-making to govern the array of data management across the enterprise.
  • Data Asset Management: Management of data asset inventory; metadata defining or describing data assets, including taxonomies, subject areas and information classes; data documentation in metadata repositories.
  • Data Standards: Establishment and maintenance of adopted agreements on common data definitions, specifications and vocabularies for data assets; publication and maintenance of data standards in shared repositories.
  • Data Sharing: Trust framework and legal agreements enabling the exchange of information across organizational domains and source data systems; security, privacy, consent and authorization compliance through applicable law.

The Commonwealth Data Governance team operates within these domains through collaboration with data stewards, business leads, technical leads, security staff and other stakeholders across the enterprise.

Data Governance

The EIA Data Governance Domain centers on high-level data stewardship of the Commonwealth's information architecture and assets. Data Governance represents the strategy dimension of the EIA program, with clearly defined objectives cascading from the enterprise to the Agency and program level. Key factors within the Enterprise Data Governance Domain include strategic direction, institutional arrangements, agency relationships and administrative functions necessary for aligning the Commonwealth's EIA with the Business Architecture.


  • Governance driven by relationships among data stewards at the enterprise, agency and program level
  • Central data governance organization with executive sponsorship
  • Enterprise data strategy and well-defined policies, standards and guidelines
  • Feedback loops in place to support continuous improvement for EIA
  • Data governance staff, data stewards and business leaders monitor and promote strategies to enhance the value chain of information architecture and assets


Data Sharing

The EIA Data Sharing Domain promotes the formation of a Commonwealth-wide trust framework to enable the exchange of information across organizational domains and source data systems. The trust framework will be modeled on the Federal Data Utilization and Reciprocal Support Agreement (DURSA) and consist of requisite legal agreements. The trust framework and implementing legal agreements will enforce compliance with all security, privacy, consent and authorization codified in applicable law.


  • Enterprise data-sharing built on a solid trust framework and legal agreements modeled on the Federal DURSA
  • Security, privacy, consent and authorization addressed based on applicable law
  • Commonwealth interoperability with other states and national information exchanges

Information relating to the Commonwealth's move toward enterprise data sharing can be found under the Secretarial Committee on Data Sharing.


Data Asset Management

The EIA Data Asset Management Domain focuses on the development, implementation and maintenance of an enterprise-level inventory of the Commonwealth's data assets. Data asset management features high-level metadata and related data documentation at the Secretariat, Agency and program level. The metadata inventory will be structured based on a detailed taxonomy with subject-area and information-class categorization. The inventory will be housed in a central metadata repository, with data assets mapped to adopted enterprise data standards. This asset mapping shall support gap analysis and identification of areas requiring new enterprise data standards.


  • Enterprise data-asset management program 
  • Metadata taxonomy, subject areas and information classes 
  • Publication and maintenance of an enterprise metadata repository 
  • Data assets mapped to enterprise data standards 


Data Standards

The EIA Data Standards Domain focuses on the establishment and maintenance of adopted Commonwealth data standards. This includes standards for data management, data storage, data exchange, information architecture, messaging and implementation guides. The EIA Data Standards Domain fosters semantic interoperability across the Commonwealth based on enterprise agreements on common data/attribute definitions, specifications and vocabularies for data/information assets. Under this Domain, the Commonwealth Data Governance Team is responsible for publishing and maintaining enterprise data standards in the EA Standards Repository.


  • Semantic interoperability across domains based on adopted enterprise standards
  • Emphasis away from internal standards and toward external standards maintained by national/international Standard Development Organizations
  • Standards reinforce strategies for data quality and integrity
  • Compliance monitoring and tracking for enterprise standards
  • Central standards repository with resources to support Agency capacity-building and compliance

Adopted standards are published and maintained in the Enterprise Standards Repository (Excel).

How to Use the Enterprise Data Standards

The above Excel file ("Enterprise Standards Repository") lists all the COV Adopted Standards.

  1. SEARCH the list for a standard you are seeking
  2. SCROLL to the right and click the corresponding URL to access the standard web page
  3. If the URL does not work, cut and paste the URL and put the URL in your web browser

Contact ea@vita.virginia.gov for assistance if needed.